• All branches close at 5pm for Independence Day Eve, July 3

  • All branches closed for Independence Day, July 4

Act Now On Legacy!

Act Now On Legacy!

In the past two years, the 12 Regional Public Library Systems in the state of Minnesota have done a magnificent job in delivering outstanding programs in the arts, history and cultural heritage. This was possible because revenue from Minnesota’s Arts and Cultural Heritage fund (also known as the Legacy fund) was distributed according to an already in place funding distribution formula through the Department of Education.
Great River Regional Library has brought an entirely new level of programming excellence to all of its locations through the Legacy fund. The Legacy programs have provided small-town communities in Central Minnesota with unprecedented (and much appreciated) access to high quality creative, historical, and cultural programming, free of charge. We have the needed expertise as well as wonderful ideas to continue to make this gift from the taxpayers work and work well.
The House and the Senate have appointed conferees for the omnibus Legacy funding bill that will decide the future of Legacy funding.
The House version of the Legacy funding bill provides $3.455 million per year to regional public libraries, to be distributed via the existing regional library funding formula. This continues the current distribution system.
The Senate version provides $3 million per year for a new competitive grant program administered by the State Arts Board. Regional libraries, individual public libraries and multi-type library systems are eligible to compete for grants.
People in the regional library systems across the state have worked extraordinarily hard to be good stewards of the public funds. If you would like us to continue our great work uninterrupted and ensure equitable funding statewide contact the following committee members today and urge them to support the HOUSE position. See sample letters.

House Conferees:
Rep. Dean Urdahl (R - Grove City) 651-296-4344
Rep. Carol McFarlane (R - White Bear Lake) 651-296-5363
Rep. Denny McNamara (R - Hastings) 651-3135
Rep. Paul Torkelson (R - St. James) 651-296-9303
Rep. Mary Murphy (R - Hermantown) 651-296-2676

Senate Conferees:
Senator Bill Ingebrigtsen (R - Alexandria) 651-297-8063
Senator John Pederson (R - St. Cloud) 651-296-6455
Senator Carla Nelson (R - Rochester) 651-296-4848
Senator Dick Cohen (DFL - St. Paul) 651-296-5931
Senator Dan Hall (R - Burnsville) 651-296-5975