• All branches closed for Presidents Day, February 15.

Bestsellers - Nonfiction

Printer Friendly Display

 Bestselling Nonfiction from a variety of sources including the New York Times.


When breath becomes air Cover
Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated.
ordered 120315
Book
Jan 25, 2016
Dark money : the hidden history of the billionaires behind the rise of the radical right Cover
Jane Mayer
ordered 012116
Book
Feb 1, 2016
Between the world and me Cover
Ta-Nehisi Coates
For Ta-Nehisi Coates, history has always been personal. At every stage of his life, he's sought in his explorations of history answers to the mysteries that surrounded him--most urgently, why he, and other black people he knew, seemed to live in fear. What were they afraid of? In this book. Coates takes readers along on his journey through America's history of race and its contemporary resonances through a series of awakenings--moments when he discovered some new truth about our long, tangled history of race, whether through his myth-busting professors at Howard University, a trip to a Civil War battlefield with a rogue historian, a journey to Chicago's South Side to visit aging survivors of 20th century America's 'long war on black people,' or a visit with the mother of a beloved friend who was shot down by the police. In his trademark style--a mix of lyrical personal narrative, reimagined history, essayistic argument, and reportage--Coates provides readers an illuminating new framework for understanding race: its history, our contemporary dilemma, and where we go from here.
305.8 Coa
Book
Jul 27, 2015
The road to Little Dribbling : adventures of an American in Britain Cover
Bill Bryson
ordered 082015
Book
Feb 1, 2016
The name of God is mercy : a conversation with Andrea Tornicelli Cover
Andrea Tornicelli
ordered 011416
Book
Jan 25, 2016
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli pirates : the forgotten war that changed American history Cover
Brian Kilmeade
Don Yaeger
This is the little-known story of how a newly independent nation was challenged by four Muslim powers and what happened when America's third president decided to stand up to intimidation. When Thomas Jefferson became president in 1801, America faced a crisis. The new nation was deeply in debt and needed its economy to grow quickly, but its merchant ships were under attack. Pirates from North Africa's Barbary coast routinely captured American sailors and held them as slaves, demanding ransom and tribute payments far beyond what the new country could afford. Over the previous fifteen years, as a diplomat and then as secretary of state, Jefferson had tried to work with the Barbary states (Tripoli, Tunis, Algiers, and Morocco). Unfortunately, he found it impossible to negotiate with people who believed their religion justified the plunder and enslavement of non-Muslims. These rogue states would show no mercy--at least not while easy money could be made by extorting America, France, England, and other powers. So President Jefferson decided to move beyond diplomacy. He sent the U.S. Navy's new warships and a detachment of marines to blockade Tripoli--launching the Barbary Wars and beginning America's journey toward future superpower status.
973.47 Kil
Book
Jan 4, 2016
Killing Reagan : the violent assault that changed a presidency Cover
Bill O'Reilly
Martin Dugard
Just two months into his presidency, Ronald Reagan lay near death after a gunman's bullet came within inches of his heart. His recovery was nothing short of remarkable -- or so it seemed. But Reagan was grievously injured, forcing him to encounter a challenge that few men ever face. Could he silently overcome his traumatic experience while at the same time carrying out the duties of the most powerful man in the world?
973.927 ORe
Book
Oct 5, 2015
Being mortal : medicine and what matters in the end Cover
Atul Gawande
Gawande, a practicing surgeon, addresses his profession's ultimate limitation, arguing that quality of life is the desired goal for patients and families of the terminally ill.
362.175 Gaw
Book
Jan 11, 2016
The Wright brothers Cover
David G. McCullough
David McCullough once again tells a dramatic story of people and technology, this time about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly, Wilbur and Orville Wright.
920 McC
Book
Dec 7, 2015
Cure : a journey into the science of mind over body Cover
Jo Marchant
A rigorous, skeptical, deeply reported look at the new science behind the mind's extraordinary ability to heal the body Have you ever felt a surge of adrenaline after narrowly avoiding an accident? Salivated at the sight (or thought) of a sour lemon? Felt turned on just from hearing your partner's voice? If so, then you've experienced how dramatically the workings of your mind can affect your body. Yet while we accept that stress or anxiety can damage our health, the idea of "healing thoughts" was long ago hijacked by New Age gurus and spiritual healers. Recently, however, serious scientists from a range of fields have been uncovering evidence that our thoughts, emotions, and beliefs can ease pain, heal wounds, fend off infection and heart disease, even slow the progression of AIDS and some cancers. In Cure, award-winning science writer Jo Marchant travels the world to meet the physicians, patients, and researchers on the cutting edge of this new world of medicine. We learn how meditation protects against depression and dementia, how social connections increase life expectancy, and how patients who feel cared for recover from surgery faster. We meet Iraq war veterans who are using a virtual arctic world to treat their burns and children whose ADHD is kept under control with half the normal dose of medication. We watch as a transplant patient uses the smell of lavender to calm his hostile immune system and an Olympic runner shaves vital seconds off his time through mind-power alone. Drawing on the very latest research, Marchant explores the vast potential of the mind's ability to heal, acknowledges its limitations, and explains how we can make use of the findings in our own lives.
ordered 123015
Book
Feb 8, 2016
Modern romance Cover
Aziz Ansari
Eric Klinenberg
The standup comedian teams up with a New York University sociologist to explore the nature of modern relationships, evaluating how technology is shaping contemporary relationships and considering the differences between courtships of the past and present.
646.77 Ans
Book
Dec 21, 2015
Gratitude Cover
Oliver Sacks
Four essays, written between 2013 and 2015, about living a good life and facing mortality, by the neurologist and author, who died last August.
306.9 Sac
Book
Jan 11, 2016
H is for Hawk Cover
Helen Macdonald
As a child Helen Macdonald was determined to become a falconer. She learned the arcane terminology and read all the classic books, including T.H. White's tortured masterpiece, The Goshawk, which describes White's struggle to train a hawk as a spiritual contest. When her father dies and she is knocked sideways by grief, she becomes obsessed with the idea of training her own goshawk. She buys Mabel on a Scottish quayside and takes her home to Cambridge. Then she fills the freezer with hawk food and unplugs the phone, ready to embark on the long, strange business of trying to train this wildest of animals.
598.944 Mac
Book
Jan 11, 2016
The only game in town : central banks, instability, and avoiding the next collapse Cover
Mohamed A. El-Erian
A former C.E.O. argues that we must overcome our reliance on central banks and create a sustainable global economy.
ordered 010716
Book
Feb 8, 2016
Why the right went wrong : conservatism--from Goldwater to the Tea Party and beyond Cover
E. J Dionne
ordered 010716
Book
Feb 1, 2016
What if? : serious scientific answers to absurd hypothetical questions Cover
Randall Munroe
Millions of people visit xkcd.com each week to read Randall Munroe's iconic webcomic. His stick-figure drawings about science, technology, language, and love have a large and passionate following. Fans of xkcd ask Munroe a lot of strange questions. In pursuit of answers, Munroe runs computer simulations, pores over stacks of declassified military research memos, solves differential equations, and consults with nuclear reactor operators. His responses are masterpieces of clarity and hilarity, complemented by signature xkcd comics. The book features new and never-before-answered questions, along with updated and expanded versions of the most popular answers from the xkcd website.
500 Mun
Book
Dec 7, 2015
Crippled America : how to make our country great again Cover
Donald Trump
Donald Trump outlines how a crippled America could be restored to greatness. The book explores Trump's view on key issues including the economy, big CEO salaries and taxes, healthcare, education, national security, and social issues. Of particular interest is his vision for complete immigration reform, beginning with securing the borders and putting American workers first.
320.973 Tru
Book
Nov 23, 2015
Furiously happy : a funny book about horrible things Cover
Jenny Lawson
In Furiously Happy, Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness.
B Law
Book
Dec 28, 2015
Notorious RBG : the life and times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg Cover
Irin Carmon
Shana Knizhnik
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg offers a visually rich, intimate, unprecedented look at the Justice and how she changed the world. From Ginsburg's refusal to let the slammed doors of sexism stop her to her innovative legal work, from her before-its-time feminist marriage to her perch on the nation's highest court--with the fierce dissents to match--get to know RBG as never before. As the country struggles with the unfinished business of gender equality and civil rights, Ginsburg stands as a testament to how far we can come with a little chutzpah.
B Gin
Book
Dec 21, 2015
In a different key : the story of autism Cover
John (John Joseph) Donvan
Caren (Caren Brenda) Zucker
Nearly seventy-five years ago, Donald Triplett of Forest, Mississippi became the first child diagnosed with autism. Beginning with his family's odyssey, In a Different Key tells the extraordinary story of this often misunderstood condition, and of the civil rights battles waged by the families of those who have it. Unfolding over decades, it is a beautifully rendered history of ordinary people determined to secure a place in the world for those with autism--by liberating children from dank institutions, campaigning for their right to go to school, challenging expert opinion on what it means to have autism, and persuading society to accept those who are different.
ordered 123015
Book
Feb 8, 2016
Syndicate content
Paul Kalanithi
ordered 120315
Aziz Ansari
Eric Klinenberg
646.77 Ans
Jane Mayer
ordered 012116
Oliver Sacks
306.9 Sac
Ta-Nehisi Coates
305.8 Coa
Helen Macdonald
598.944 Mac
Bill Bryson
ordered 082015
Mohamed A. El-Erian
ordered 010716
Andrea Tornicelli
ordered 011416
E. J Dionne
ordered 010716
Brian Kilmeade
Don Yaeger
973.47 Kil
Randall Munroe
500 Mun
Bill O'Reilly
Martin Dugard
973.927 ORe
Donald Trump
320.973 Tru
Atul Gawande
362.175 Gaw
Jenny Lawson
B Law
David G. McCullough
920 McC
Irin Carmon
Shana Knizhnik
B Gin
Jo Marchant
ordered 123015
John (John Joseph) Donvan
Caren (Caren Brenda) Zucker
ordered 123015