Bestsellers - Nonfiction

Printer Friendly Display

 Bestselling Nonfiction from a variety of sources including the New York Times.


When breath becomes air Cover
Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated.
ordered 120315
Book
Jan 25, 2016
The name of God is mercy : a conversation with Andrea Tornicelli Cover
Andrea Tornicelli
ordered 011416
Book
Jan 25, 2016
Between the world and me Cover
Ta-Nehisi Coates
For Ta-Nehisi Coates, history has always been personal. At every stage of his life, he's sought in his explorations of history answers to the mysteries that surrounded him--most urgently, why he, and other black people he knew, seemed to live in fear. What were they afraid of? In this book. Coates takes readers along on his journey through America's history of race and its contemporary resonances through a series of awakenings--moments when he discovered some new truth about our long, tangled history of race, whether through his myth-busting professors at Howard University, a trip to a Civil War battlefield with a rogue historian, a journey to Chicago's South Side to visit aging survivors of 20th century America's 'long war on black people,' or a visit with the mother of a beloved friend who was shot down by the police. In his trademark style--a mix of lyrical personal narrative, reimagined history, essayistic argument, and reportage--Coates provides readers an illuminating new framework for understanding race: its history, our contemporary dilemma, and where we go from here.
305.8 Coa
Book
Jul 27, 2015
The road to Little Dribbling : adventures of an American in Britain Cover
Bill Bryson
ordered 082015
Book
Feb 1, 2016
Dark money : the hidden history of the billionaires behind the rise of the radical right Cover
Jane Mayer
ordered 012116
Book
Feb 1, 2016
Killing Reagan : the violent assault that changed a presidency Cover
Bill O'Reilly
Martin Dugard
Just two months into his presidency, Ronald Reagan lay near death after a gunman's bullet came within inches of his heart. His recovery was nothing short of remarkable -- or so it seemed. But Reagan was grievously injured, forcing him to encounter a challenge that few men ever face. Could he silently overcome his traumatic experience while at the same time carrying out the duties of the most powerful man in the world?
973.927 ORe
Book
Oct 5, 2015
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli pirates : the forgotten war that changed American history Cover
Brian Kilmeade
Don Yaeger
This is the little-known story of how a newly independent nation was challenged by four Muslim powers and what happened when America's third president decided to stand up to intimidation. When Thomas Jefferson became president in 1801, America faced a crisis. The new nation was deeply in debt and needed its economy to grow quickly, but its merchant ships were under attack. Pirates from North Africa's Barbary coast routinely captured American sailors and held them as slaves, demanding ransom and tribute payments far beyond what the new country could afford. Over the previous fifteen years, as a diplomat and then as secretary of state, Jefferson had tried to work with the Barbary states (Tripoli, Tunis, Algiers, and Morocco). Unfortunately, he found it impossible to negotiate with people who believed their religion justified the plunder and enslavement of non-Muslims. These rogue states would show no mercy--at least not while easy money could be made by extorting America, France, England, and other powers. So President Jefferson decided to move beyond diplomacy. He sent the U.S. Navy's new warships and a detachment of marines to blockade Tripoli--launching the Barbary Wars and beginning America's journey toward future superpower status.
973.47 Kil
Book
Jan 4, 2016
Being mortal : medicine and what matters in the end Cover
Atul Gawande
Gawande, a practicing surgeon, addresses his profession's ultimate limitation, arguing that quality of life is the desired goal for patients and families of the terminally ill.
362.175 Gaw
Book
Jan 11, 2016
Crippled America : how to make our country great again Cover
Donald Trump
Donald Trump outlines how a crippled America could be restored to greatness. The book explores Trump's view on key issues including the economy, big CEO salaries and taxes, healthcare, education, national security, and social issues. Of particular interest is his vision for complete immigration reform, beginning with securing the borders and putting American workers first.
320.973 Tru
Book
Nov 23, 2015
Modern romance Cover
Aziz Ansari
Eric Klinenberg
The standup comedian teams up with a New York University sociologist to explore the nature of modern relationships, evaluating how technology is shaping contemporary relationships and considering the differences between courtships of the past and present.
646.77 Ans
Book
Dec 21, 2015
The Wright brothers Cover
David G. McCullough
David McCullough once again tells a dramatic story of people and technology, this time about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly, Wilbur and Orville Wright.
920 McC
Book
Dec 7, 2015
Why the right went wrong : conservatism--from Goldwater to the Tea Party and beyond Cover
E. J Dionne
ordered 010716
Book
Feb 1, 2016
Notorious RBG : the life and times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg Cover
Irin Carmon
Shana Knizhnik
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg offers a visually rich, intimate, unprecedented look at the Justice and how she changed the world. From Ginsburg's refusal to let the slammed doors of sexism stop her to her innovative legal work, from her before-its-time feminist marriage to her perch on the nation's highest court--with the fierce dissents to match--get to know RBG as never before. As the country struggles with the unfinished business of gender equality and civil rights, Ginsburg stands as a testament to how far we can come with a little chutzpah.
B Gin
Book
Dec 21, 2015
H is for Hawk Cover
Helen Macdonald
As a child Helen Macdonald was determined to become a falconer. She learned the arcane terminology and read all the classic books, including T.H. White's tortured masterpiece, The Goshawk, which describes White's struggle to train a hawk as a spiritual contest. When her father dies and she is knocked sideways by grief, she becomes obsessed with the idea of training her own goshawk. She buys Mabel on a Scottish quayside and takes her home to Cambridge. Then she fills the freezer with hawk food and unplugs the phone, ready to embark on the long, strange business of trying to train this wildest of animals.
598.944 Mac
Book
Jan 11, 2016
The witches : Salem, 1692 Cover
Stacy Schiff
Stacy Schiff analyzes the Salem Witch Trials to offer key insights into the role of women in its events while explaining how its tragedies became possible.
345.744 Sch
Book
Nov 9, 2015
Gratitude Cover
Oliver Sacks
Four essays, written between 2013 and 2015, about living a good life and facing mortality, by the neurologist and author, who died last August.
306.9 Sac
Book
Jan 11, 2016
What if? : serious scientific answers to absurd hypothetical questions Cover
Randall Munroe
Millions of people visit xkcd.com each week to read Randall Munroe's iconic webcomic. His stick-figure drawings about science, technology, language, and love have a large and passionate following. Fans of xkcd ask Munroe a lot of strange questions. In pursuit of answers, Munroe runs computer simulations, pores over stacks of declassified military research memos, solves differential equations, and consults with nuclear reactor operators. His responses are masterpieces of clarity and hilarity, complemented by signature xkcd comics. The book features new and never-before-answered questions, along with updated and expanded versions of the most popular answers from the xkcd website.
500 Mun
Book
Dec 7, 2015
SPQR : a history of ancient Rome Cover
Mary Beard
A prominent classicist explores ancient Rome and how its citizens adapted the notion of imperial rule, invented the concepts of citizenship and nation, and made laws about those traditionally overlooked in history, including women, slaves, and criminals.
937 Bea
Book
Dec 7, 2015
Humans of New York: stories Cover
Brandon Stanton
Brandon. Humans of New York Stanton
In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project--to create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the accompanying interviews became the blog Humans of New York. His audience steadily grew from a few hundred followers to, at present count, over twelve million. In 2013, his book Humans of New York, based on that blog, was published. Now, Brandon is back with the Humans of New York book that his followers have been waiting for: Humans of New York: Stories. Ever since Brandon began interviewing people on the streets of New York, the dialogue he's had with them has increasingly become as in-depth, intriguing and moving as the photos themselves. Humans of New York: Stories presents a whole new group of people in photographs, with a rich design and longer stories that delve deeper and surprise with greater candor.
974.71 Sta
Book
Oct 26, 2015
Furiously happy : a funny book about horrible things Cover
Jenny Lawson
In Furiously Happy, Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness.
B Law
Book
Dec 28, 2015
Syndicate content
Paul Kalanithi
ordered 120315
David G. McCullough
920 McC
Andrea Tornicelli
ordered 011416
E. J Dionne
ordered 010716
Ta-Nehisi Coates
305.8 Coa
Irin Carmon
Shana Knizhnik
B Gin
Bill Bryson
ordered 082015
Helen Macdonald
598.944 Mac
Jane Mayer
ordered 012116
Stacy Schiff
345.744 Sch
Bill O'Reilly
Martin Dugard
973.927 ORe
Oliver Sacks
306.9 Sac
Brian Kilmeade
Don Yaeger
973.47 Kil
Randall Munroe
500 Mun
Atul Gawande
362.175 Gaw
Mary Beard
937 Bea
Donald Trump
320.973 Tru
Brandon Stanton
Brandon. Humans of New York Stanton
974.71 Sta
Aziz Ansari
Eric Klinenberg
646.77 Ans
Jenny Lawson
B Law